2011 – Year In Review

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?
Got robbed. Technically I didn’t do that, it got done to me, but it was something I’d never done before. I also studied nursing. That was pretty new too.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Yes. I resolved to not get pregnant and to love my boyfriends fiercely, and I did both those things.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Mark’s sister had a little girl in June!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Not this year. We did good!

5. What countries did you visit?
Does Google Street View count?

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?
A job!

7. What date from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
October 21st – the day Occupy Melbourne was forcibly and violently evicted from City Square. Despite the fact that I was not involved that day, aside from a short altercation with a member of the Police in the morning, I will NEVER forget how sick and worried I felt all day. I will never forget seeing my friends kettled in behind temporary fences. I will never forget coming back into town after school and seeing thousands of people being forced up Swanston Street, a line of police blocking them in. I will never forget the 12 hour bus ride I had to Sydney that night, on which I didn’t sleep a wink because I was so worried about my friends.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Not getting arrested on October 21st after shouting at a police man.

9. What was your biggest failure?
I cracked a rib jumping onto Emil’s bed in Sydney. The fail part was that it happened two days after the Occupy Melbourne eviction, but didn’t happen AT the Occupy Melbourne eviction, so I couldn’t swap war stories with my comrades.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
See question nine. Who breaks a rib jumping onto a bed?

11. What was the best thing you bought?
A new Wii to replace the one that was stolen in May.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Mark’s. He is just a wonderful partner. He tolerates my unconventional behaviour and doesn’t try to force me to conform. He is honest and caring and supportive. He deserves to be celebrated every day!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and/or disgusted?
Robert Doyle. You made some terrible decisions and have never made any effort to meet with the people who those decisions affected.

14. Where did most of your money go?
I didn’t have any money this year. Not regularly, anyway. But every time I got a little bit of cash, I used it to go to Sydney. So….most of my money went to Qantas.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Dad’s 60th birthday in Brisbane in September. Going to Sydney to see Emil for the first time in February.

16. What song will always remind you of 2011?
U2 – Everlasting Love

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? Happier, even though I didn’t think such a thing were possible. I was pretty happy last year.
ii. thinner or fatter? The same.
iii. richer or poorer? Definitely poorer. Gimme a job!

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Emil? LOL. I wish I had read more books and written more of my novel.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
I wish I’d been less crazy. I think I really ratcheted up the crazy girl behaviour this year.

20. How will you/did you spend Christmas?
Christmas Eve: Present-swaps and drinks and snacks with Mark, my sister and her boyfriend.

Christmas Day: Epic hailstorm of epicness.

Boxing Day: Highpoint shopping centre sucked my will to live.

22. Did you fall in love in 2011?
I did. I didn’t think I was going to, but I did, and it’s amazing.

23. How many one-night stands?
Er…two. Three?

24. What was your favorite TV program?
It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I really hate the Lord Mayor.

26. What was the best book you read?
High Fidelity. It will always be the best book I have read. I love it more than any other book.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
City Calm Down.

28. What did you want and get?
A new laptop. Twice. Cause the first new one got stolen.

29. What did you want and not get?
Millions and millions of dollars.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
Red Dog. Adorable!

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Just a quiet thing at home. Turned 28.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
A fuckin’ job!

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?
Day: Lisa Loeb from the “Stay” video.
Night: Frocks and stilettos.

34. What kept you sane?
Mark. Fallout 3. Twinings Irish Breakfast tea. Pints of Coopers Pale Ale at the Quiet Man. Bruce Springsteen. Facebook. Occupy Melbourne.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Goran Visnjic. I could just lick him.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Occupy Melbourne. I went along on the first day and it sucked me in. It’s the revolution, baby!

37. Who did you miss?
Emil. More than words can say.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
I just have to pick one? I met so many new people this year – I started school, got involved with Occupy Melbourne, and made MILLIONS of new friends. Amazing people, every single one of them!

39. Best drinking buddies for 2010:
Jenna, Mark, Dad and the rest of his side of the family, Sue, Emil.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
Sometimes it seems that the going is just too rough
And things go wrong no matter what I do
Now and then it seems that life is just too much
But you’ve got the love I need to see me through.

– You’ve Got The Love, Florence + the Machine.

Leave a Reply

