In love with this girl, and with her town as well

At 6.30 Friday morning, I swam in this pool. It’s on the rooftop of the hotel I stayed in with my Second Boyfriend. The far end of the pool is cantilevered over Flinders Lane and has a perspex bottom, so one can swim right to the end and peer down onto the street. It was quiet up there at 6.30. Dawn had broken but the sky was soft and grey, and I was on my own on the deck. Astroturf adorned the ground, deckchairs and yellow umbrellas were scattered around upon it. I could hear a few trams going up and down Swanston Street, and a few cars drove by below me, but the cranes at the building site across the road were silent, fixed. The neon sign on the KPMG building was still illuminated, and I wondered if anyone was at work yet. I swam languidly up and down as the sun slowly rose in the sky.<br /><br /><br />While it’s no secret how much I love my city, I fell in love with Melbourne all over again as I swam above her streets this morning.<br /><br /><br />And I think Melbourne might be feeling the same way.

At 6.30 Friday morning, I swam in this pool. It’s on the rooftop of the hotel I stayed in with my Second Boyfriend. The far end of the pool is cantilevered over Flinders Lane and has a perspex bottom, so one can swim right to the end and peer down onto the street. 

It was quiet up there at 6.30. Dawn had broken but the sky was soft and grey, and I was on my own on the deck. Astroturf adorned the ground, deckchairs and yellow umbrellas were scattered around upon it. I could hear a few trams going up and down Swanston Street, and a few cars drove by below me, but the cranes at the building site across the road were silent, fixed. The neon sign on the KPMG building was still illuminated, and I wondered if anyone was at work yet. I swam languidly up and down as the sun slowly rose in the sky.

While it’s no secret how much I love my city, I fell in love with Melbourne all over again as I swam above her streets this morning.

And I think Melbourne might be feeling the same way.

Leave a Reply

