People write me letters

I enjoyed your commentary on the word “fat”. I definitely agree with you – however I still think “fat” and/ or obesity should not be glamourised, or normalised. Fat and/ or obese is not normal, and it is not okay.

What should be glamourised is health. Exercise and healthy eating.

This forms healthy, thin and muscular bodies. That is what should be plastered everywhere.

– from PunkRockMermaid at Tumblr

Thankyou for your comments. I definitely agree with you that health should be glamourised and I also agree that obesity should not be glamourised.

I take some issue, however, with your assertion that fat is not normal. The word “normal” is harmful. The word “normal” leads people to believe that if they are not what has been defined as “normal”, then they are abnormal, wrong, weird or broken.

I also believe that fat people can be healthy. I am fat. I exercise three or four times a week, I eat well, and I have no obesity-related illnesses like diabetes or hypertension.

Certainly, there are unhealthy fat people out there, chowing down on burgers and fries, drinking sugar-filled soft drinks and so on. But there are also just as many skinny people out there doing the same thing, who, but for the good fortune of a fast metabolism, probably would be fat and unhealthy.

I think that health, exercise and sensible eating is far more important than body shape.

P.S, thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

