Erin gets ranty about the oil spill

These are hermit crabs, struggling to come up the beach on a barrier island near East Grand Terre Island, in Louisiana. (Photo from the AP, via Huffington Post)

The Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico has been going on for 50 days now, and shows no sign of being brought to an end anytime soon.

I can’t even tell what kind of bird this is. A pelican chick? A pigeon? A duck? My soul aches just looking at it.  I’m angry and I feel helpless. If I lived in Louisiana I would be all hands on deck, helping wash oil off birds and other animals. But instead I am stuck here in Australia, my rage unchecked. And when I get angry, I cry. Preferable, I guess, to smashing stuff with a cricket bat – or to crushing my boyfriend’s car into a cube and setting it on fire.

There is a scene in Star Wars IV: A New Hope, just after the Death Star destroys Alderaan and Jedi Master Obi-Wan Kenobi (heading towards Alderaan in the Millennium Falcon) says:

I felt a great disturbance in the Force, as if millions of voices suddenly cried out in terror and were suddenly silenced. I fear something terrible has happened.

It feels like that when I look at these pictures of the sludge and muck on the ocean and the shores. All those animals, all those creatures. I can feel their stress and their fear and their pain and their confusion. My heart hurts with the weight of it. And there is nothing practical I can do except rant about it.

Demand action. Demand the American government hold BP accountable at the highest level for this disaster. This is an issue that transcends politics. It does not matter what end of the spectrum you’re on. It does not matter if you’re a Republican or a Democrat, an environmentalist or a neocon, if you’re a Christian or an Atheist, a Green or a Nationalist, if you’re left or right or centre-moderate. It does not matter. Demand action. Be one of the millions of voices who cry out in rage and indignation and ensure BP are held to account and that they foot the entire bill for the cleanup and rehabilitation of the environment and every creature living in it.

Demand an end to our reliance on fossil fuels. Shut up your whinging about wind farms ruining your view out the window and embrace renewable resources. Buy Green Energy from your energy retailer. Use your car less and recycle your plastics.

It’s not just up to the people of America to make a stand, it is up to every reasonable human being on the planet to make a stand. We must unite as a human race and tell BP we do not approve.

Leave a Reply

